Hooking up 3 subs to one amp
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

  1. #1
    Junior Member nadcraker has not yet proved knowledgeable nadcraker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Central Valley, CA
    Posts
    59

    Default Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    I have a 2 channel amp that can go 100x2 @4 ohms, 200x2 @2 ohms, & 400x1 @4 ohms bridged. I'm thinking of hooking up 3 low wattage subs to it, how would I do that wiring wise? And how would the power be split? Can you run two or more subs off of one bridged channel? I think I need clarification on channels of music and number or speakers, because a car audio guy told me I could run 4 coax speakers off a two channel amp, but I would lose the ability to fade from front to back, but I could still use balance from left to right.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Elantra XD
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Ninja Super Mod KeWLKaT knows a lot about Elantras KeWLKaT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    17,346

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    you could, you will have to wire them in parallel.

    its gonna give you something funky though OHM-wise. but it will work.

    check to see if your amp is 2 ohms stable.

    '02 Elantra GT
    '04 Suzuki Katana 600

  4. #3
    circuit track whore 2loud2k2xd has not yet proved knowledgeable 2loud2k2xd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    detroit
    Posts
    3,820

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    Quote Originally Posted by KeWLKaT
    you could, you will have to wire them in parallel.

    its gonna give you something funky though OHM-wise. but it will work.

    check to see if your amp is 2 ohms stable.
    exactly

    contact the sub manufacturer and the amp manufacturer. talk to them and see if the ohm load will be off. if it is, DO NOT wire it up and power it. it will fry the amp and subs.
    click here for K-sport coilover deal
    http://www.elantraxd.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14992

  5. #4
    12V fanatic southpawboston has not yet proved knowledgeable southpawboston's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    1,713

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    if your subs are 4-ohm each, you could wire two in parallel, and hook those up in series to the third, which would give you a 6-ohm load on your amp bridged to one channel. but i'm not sure how that would sound... it could color the sound, but at least it won't cause any damage to the amp.

    if the subs are 2-ohm each, i would wire all three in series for a 6-ohm final load. they will sound fine, and again there will be no strain on the amp.
    Last edited by southpawboston; 10-27-2005 at 05:14 PM.
    2006 Mazda3 S Touring 5-dr

  6. #5
    Junior Member nadcraker has not yet proved knowledgeable nadcraker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Central Valley, CA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    Thanks for the info guys, but I'm still curious how the power would be split among the subs, depending on if leave it in 2 channel or bridge to one channel.

  7. #6
    Newbie, such a harsh word ryan s-b has not yet proved knowledgeable ryan s-b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brew City
    Posts
    97

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    or you could wire them all in parallel and have it sound super good for 30 min until you fry your amp
    2k5 elantra gls hatch

    audio:
    HU - alpine cda-9813
    comps - cdt cl-61's
    amps - zapco ag750, zapco ag350
    sub - 12" RE SX in a ported box tuned @ 32 Hz

    video:
    ps2 slimline in glovebox w/ 7" flipout in dash lcd screen

    I NEED A UNIVERSAL REMOTE FOR MY RIDE!!

  8. #7
    12V fanatic southpawboston has not yet proved knowledgeable southpawboston's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    1,713

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    i don't see how you have a choice but to have it bridged to one channel. you don't want two subs on one channel and one sub on another.

    here's another idea: run the amp in 4-channel mode, and have one sub per channel and leave one channel unused. but then you have to split your input signal among three channels... that will reduce your signal to noise ratio.
    2006 Mazda3 S Touring 5-dr

  9. #8
    Junior Member chaos GT has not yet proved knowledgeable
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    141

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    Quote Originally Posted by southpawboston
    if your subs are 4-ohm each, you could wire two in parallel, and hook those up in series to the third, which would give you a 6-ohm load on your amp bridged to one channel. but i'm not sure how that would sound... it could color the sound, but at least it won't cause any damage to the amp.

    if the subs are 2-ohm each, i would wire all three in series for a 6-ohm final load. they will sound fine, and again there will be no strain on the amp.
    the first method would work fine as far as the amp is concerned, but it would provide unequal power to the subs. that's just asking for cancellation issues and you'd probably be better off just running 2 of the speakers.

    the second option, although not delivering full power from the amp would work just fine.

    it'd be really helpful to know the make/model of the subs and amp though so we know what options are even possible.

  10. #9
    Junior Member nadcraker has not yet proved knowledgeable nadcraker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Central Valley, CA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    Well I was just asking for the knowledge, because I was thinking about getting 3 8" subs. But today I got 2 JL 10W1v2 8 ohm subs. So I have those two subs, plus the Arc Audio KAR 400.2 amp ( 100x2 @4 ohms, 200x2 @2 ohms, & 400x1 @4 ohms bridged ). Those subs are rated for 150W (assuming thats RMS), so what would be the best way to wire them? If I bridge it, how many watts would each sub get? I think it would be too much.

  11. #10
    DON'T PANIC! Atomic has not yet proved knowledgeable Atomic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    North Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    486

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    Bridging the amp and the subs wired in parallel, you'd be pushing a max of 400watts @ a 4ohm load, so 200 per speaker. But that's at max volume, so really about 50-100 watts RMS, which should sound fine.
    2006 Santa Fe

  12. #11
    Junior Member chaos GT has not yet proved knowledgeable
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    141

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    that looks like a good match up you have there. do as atomic said and run the subs parallel and bridge the amp. the jls should take 200 watts no problem.

  13. #12
    12V fanatic southpawboston has not yet proved knowledgeable southpawboston's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    1,713

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    ^^^ what they said. good setup. and the JLs will handle it fine.
    2006 Mazda3 S Touring 5-dr

  14. #13
    Junior Member nadcraker has not yet proved knowledgeable nadcraker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Central Valley, CA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    Thanks a lot for all the help guys, Im gonna get to work on designing/building a box now. I'll post pics when I'm done, IF it turns out post-pic worthy

  15. #14
    Calf...Ankles...Cankles!! evan938 knows a lot about Elantras evan938's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    12,676

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    oh, the box building stage. me and nick tried this the other night. im sure if we had GOOD wood (shut up, i know what youre thinking) instead of some been rained on 1/2" MDF and instead had some solid, non-warped 3/4" or even 1" MDF, it could be a lot nicer. once he gets a little $ together, the box will be a lot nicer. ive been thinking of building myself one once i find the carpet so it doesnt look like a wood box
    local forum post, users mom is an actual meth-head
    In the last convo i had with my Birth Giver. After I confronted her on leaving me for dead 17years prior to pursue a life of drugs and prostitution she seriously said "Rhett, there is nothing wrong with sucking cock for crack god damn it!!"

  16. #15
    Ninja Super Mod KeWLKaT knows a lot about Elantras KeWLKaT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    17,346

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    LOL all of this to come to the conclusion that my first post was the right one?

    '02 Elantra GT
    '04 Suzuki Katana 600

  17. #16
    Junior Member nadcraker has not yet proved knowledgeable nadcraker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Central Valley, CA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    Well I got my box built. A basic, sealed enclosure that fits right up close to the seats and still gives me tons of trunk space. But now when it comes to adjusting my amp, I've got some questions. How do I know where to set the crossover? I want Low Pass mode, but at what frequency? I've searched JL's site and can't find a reccomendation, or something that says the subs safe frequency range or anything.

    http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_s...p?series_id=15

    ^^^ Thats my subs right there, but the only thing I see on their table that has to do with frequency is Free Air Resonance (Fs), which I have no idea what that is. Any help?

  18. #17
    circuit track whore 2loud2k2xd has not yet proved knowledgeable 2loud2k2xd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    detroit
    Posts
    3,820

    Default Re: Hooking up 3 subs to one amp

    thuroughly read thru this site. everything you need to know.
    http://ccs.exl.info/frame_main.html
    click here for K-sport coilover deal
    http://www.elantraxd.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14992

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts