sulev or ulev?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: sulev or ulev?

Newbie guyverwing has not yet proved knowledgeable

Default sulev or ulev?

how do u tell if your car has either or?

2. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Elantra XD
    Advertisements

Senior Member O_GT has not yet proved knowledgeable O_GT's Avatar

Default Re: sulev or ulev?

by the vin number
    01 gt lots of mods
    05 Frontier 15.3 with just an intake
    06 WRX stock (rip)
    11 Sonata turbo

tenthirtytwothousandfour BoogeyMan113 has not yet proved knowledgeable BoogeyMan113's Avatar

I'm sorry, I'm pretty new to the Hyundai aftermarket, and the Hyundai line period, but what are you talking about?

Administrator SuperGLS has information that can be trusted SuperGLS has information that can be trusted SuperGLS's Avatar

SULEV = Super Ultra Low Emissions Vehicle

ULEV = Ultra Low Emissions Vehicle

Basically, in some states (Cali and some Northeastern states) require stronger emissions requirements, so vehicles sold there need to be SULEV compliant, rather than ULEV compliant, like most vehicles sold.

Dealing with the Beta II CVVT engine, the SULEV engines have 132/3 HP while the ULEV engines have 138 HP.
    JustDonkeys: All the donkey news, info and fun you could want. Or on Twitter @JustDonkeys.

Old Guy velantra has not yet proved knowledgeable velantra's Avatar

Apparently, one can still buy an 05 ULEV Elantra in California. I just did. SULEV Elantras apparently only come with a 4 speed automatic transmission. So I can't imagine driving an Elantra with 6 less HP and an automatic on top of that!

Broke @$$ Fool BlackElantraGT has not yet proved knowledgeable BlackElantraGT's Avatar

It's not a requirement to buy a car that's SULEV or ULEV in California. It's more geared to the people that are more concerned about the environment. Personally I don't see why anyone would want to buy a car with a detuned engine, but I guess there's a market out there for these people.