Hood: Carbon Fiber or OEM? [Archive] - Hyundai Elantra Forum

: Hood: Carbon Fiber or OEM?

Von Iobro
08-26-2004, 11:22 AM
Okay, i don't really like a bunch of flash on my car. I'm very pragmatic with my upgrades. I realy don't upgrade from OEM unless something breaks or I need to do maintenance on the item. I have to be this way because I'm a poor college student.

Anyways, it turns out that my hood is all jacked up and I have a $500 deducible on my insurance. So, for less than that price I can get a CF hood. Or for ~$200 I can get a OEM hood from a junkyard or where ever.

My car is the obsidian black, so I wouldn't mind having hte CF hood, it would look somewhat inconspicuous on my car. If my Elantra was any other color, i wouldn't even consider it.

In the end, I like the idea of making my car ligher (in the front, where it counts the most!) for better gas-mileage, handling and wear-and-tear.

so I was wondering what the durability of a CF hood was? Will it dent easily? Will it scratch, fade in the sun?

or should I just get the oem one and (someday) spend the money on something else? I'm a suspension fan and my stock XD is not the best handling thing in the world right now.

carbonman
08-26-2004, 11:28 AM
I'd say go with a CF hood, I'm a little biased though :P
The CF hood won't dent, it could crack or even shatter if hit hard enough. I've had mine on for I guess coming up to a year now and other than some minor (self inflicted) wounds like cracks its holding up very well.

kylemorg
08-26-2004, 12:29 PM
I thought I'd seen a CF hood on Ebay for the XD Elantras, but the auction must have expired.

I think a black CF hood would look nice on a black XD.

jameswing
08-26-2004, 12:37 PM
I think black is the only color that a CF hood would look good on.

GTSpeedRacer
08-26-2004, 01:01 PM
I agree...black is the only color it looks any good on.