NEW Here! 12v in trunk ? [Archive] - Hyundai Elantra Forum

: NEW Here! 12v in trunk ?



Ticook
10-26-2004, 11:27 PM
Hi There,

Just bought 2005 Elantra SE. I was planning upgrading the audio by installing a small JBL Amp (2x40w) with a 10" pionner sub. Iwas wondering if the motor antenna harness was already in the trunk. It use 20 amp fuse in the fusebox and I don't use the motor antenna..... so maybe with the small power that the amp need that i should use teh power from the motor antenna harness ?

Thanks

Ti-Cook :rolleyes:

ilanpro
10-26-2004, 11:32 PM
Mine doesnt

JacksonJ
10-27-2004, 12:54 AM
Mine doesnt

Doesn't what? :D

ilanpro
10-27-2004, 12:56 AM
Have the motor antenna harness

JacksonJ
10-27-2004, 01:02 AM
I was just joshing you like you did me on the other post.

But anyways, onto this topic. Regardless of the wires already in the car, you may want to avoid tapping into something like that, because it's tied into the stereo and is only powered when the radio is on. Amps should be hooked up directly to the battery and should have a REM lead off the radio to turn it on. Also you would want no less then 10 Guage wire.

Ticook
10-27-2004, 09:53 AM
According to web tech, under the search of antenna in the inspection section - there is constant 12v in the harness between PIN 1-3.
So I assume that it is directly conected through the fuse box. It is rated @ 20A.

ilanpro
10-27-2004, 09:55 AM
Just take a volt meter and test it

southpawboston
10-27-2004, 05:17 PM
well just because the fuse is rated for 20A doesn't mean that the wire (if it exists) is large enough gauge to work with an amp. even for a small 80W amp, you want to have at least 10-gauge wiring running to the battery. the factory antenna harness calls for 18-gauge wire. you're really best off running a dedicated wire to the amp.

oh, and to answer your question, there is constant 12V in the trunk. it's on the trunk light circuit, which draws power from fuse 25 (15A). but again, i would NOT recommend using that to power the amp. it's only a thin 20-gauge wire.

Ticook
10-27-2004, 11:01 PM
Well....

I have to assume that I'll need to find a way to get trough the firewall without breaking anything.

I've check many post in the forum and most of them look like there are with automatic transmisison, and as far as I know, the 2005 SE model with manual transmission does'nt seems to have easy reaching spot to get through the firewall.

So I'll keep looking in the forum.

Can't wait to put my JBL Amp :bowdown: