Turbo parts switch? [Archive] - Hyundai Elantra Forum

: Turbo parts switch?

TNT4ME
02-12-2005, 11:11 AM
Ok,
I have followed many of the threads here. I have searched and read alot of good information. However, I have a unique chance to get a turbo setup. I am able to strip a 1994 S-coupe turbo (european edition). It all looks good as far as bolting up and everything (intake/exhaust etc). Here is the question, what all do I REALLY need to get from this engine to make the COMPLETE turbo setup work. Thanks for any constructive inputs. Here is a pic:

http://i4.ebayimg.com/03/i/03/62/64/44_12_sb.JPG

I am new to this concept, but as you have seen in the past, I like new challenges. I will be keeping all my original parts (just in case). Please don't flame or point to search items as I have not seen anyone try this particular stunt.

A basic list of items would be cool. I can take anything I want from the car, then it will go away.

Thanks.

Gomez
02-12-2005, 11:48 AM
What do you mean by "it all looks good as far as everything bolting up?" Did you already see if the intake and exhaust manifolds fit onto your Elantra? Do you not know and that's what you're asking in the thread? Does that car still run? How much horsepower did the S-Coupe have? It doesn't look as though any of the intake manifold will be useable, it's a totally different shape from ours. Nevertheless, I really hope this will work for you.

TNT4ME
02-12-2005, 12:57 PM
I'm asking for things I may forget,not the obviuos stuff. Yes, the exhaust and intake patterns match. They look different only because they are run different (intake side). Car still runs fine. Has 80,000 miles on it, but because it is euro spec, it can not be taken back to the states without big money. His loss, my gain before it gets junked.

Gomez
02-14-2005, 01:26 PM