Avic N2

View Poll Results: Pioneer Navigation System Avic N2...

Voters
20. You may not vote on this poll
  • AWESOME!!!!

    10 50.00%
  • CRAP!!!!

    1 5.00%
  • Whats an Avic N2????

    9 45.00%
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Avic N2

  1. #1

    Default Avic N2

    I'm thinking about getting one of these to top off my system. Just wanted some opinions from some innocent bystanders.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Elantra XD
    Advertisements

  3. #2

    Default Re: Avic N2

    I'll save others the typing:

    http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pn...089333,00.html

    ... and no, I didn't know until I looked.

  4. #3

    Default Re: Avic N2

    Sorry, guess I should have put that on there, Thanx!

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Elantra XD
    Advertisements

  6. #4
    Broke @$$ Fool BlackElantraGT has not yet proved knowledgeable BlackElantraGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,648

    Default Re: Avic N2

    I would want one if I had the money. I'd rather get the Avic N1 though because you have the ability to bypass the safety features easily. I wouldn't watch porn or any DVD while I'm driving, but if I'm gonna spend close to 2 grand for something, I'm not gonna let some company decide when, where, and who can watch the DVD player. It would look wierd if I was driving, and my wife was sitting in the backseat watching a movie or something.

    Plus, if I'm in an unfamiliar place or driving down the highway and want my wife to search for the nearest 76 gas station or something like that, I don't want to have to pull over, park, and put my e-brakes on just to do that when my wife or passenger could do that for me while I'm driving.

  7. #5

    Default Re: Avic N2

    Its not all that hard to bypass the safety features on the N2. It's not as simple as the N1, but that was the point. Pioneer dosen't want people who are distracted easily by shiny objects (me) to stare at the unit while driving head first into a concrete rataining wall.

    But I like shiny things, so i'll be disabling that crap if i get it

  8. #6
    circuit track whore 2loud2k2xd has not yet proved knowledgeable 2loud2k2xd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    detroit
    Posts
    3,820

    Default Re: Avic N2

    i have an idea for ya that wont break the bank. if you have a pioneer deck with add on capabilities, you can buy a pioneer p8-dvd addon unit and this other pioneer box that has the navi and FULL engine diagnostic displays. i have the 960mp and the p8-dvd and im getting the new pioneer box very soon. it displays on-screen nav (long/lat) voltage/torque/g-force/and a bunch of other cool features (on-screen). when i get home from work today, ill find the pioneer model number.
    if i remember correctly the avnic is about 1400.00, with these units (what i talked about earlier) purchaced SEPERATELY, YOU MIGHT SAVE A FEW HUNDRED $$$ (dayum caps, sorry)

    bypass the safety feature like i did with my p8-dvd unit....ground the parking brake switch.

    btw: i saw an anvic fro sale on newtiburon.com with the bypass complete. i forgot how much they are asking. but check it out.
    Last edited by 2loud2k2xd; 09-20-2005 at 06:59 AM.

  9. #7
    Stacker BlueRush has not yet proved knowledgeable BlueRush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Watertown, New York
    Posts
    547

    Default Re: Avic N2

    I sell Pioneer @ The Happy Ear in Watertown, New York. We are also a Pioneer Premier dealer and an Authorized Pioneer Service Center.

    So here's what to do if you want to do it as seperate components with a Pioneer deck. I'll include the price of the deck, but delete that if you have a Pioneer IP-Bus capable head unit already.

    Pioneer Premier DEH-P8MP - Retail Price $440.00
    Great head unit, internal 60x4 amplifier = 30w RMS power, XM & Sirius ready (add $125 for the SIR-PNR1), customizable Blue OEL display (Personalized backgrounds)

    Pioneer Premier AVX-P8DVD - Retail Price $1,100.00
    The screen I will be getting for my car in the spring, will control the DEH-P8MP or any wired-remote input equipped Pioneer deck, 6.5" touchscreen, Remote is $40 extra.

    Pioneer AVIC-88DVD - Retail Price $1,700.00
    Sick, voice recognition built in(included), steering wheel remote included, touchscreen control, 12 points of interest and growing(uprgade disc available just about every year or so).

    Retail Price for Package - $3240


    Compare that to the $2200 for the AVIC-N2 and the fact that yes, you can watch DVD's while driving by looping a set of RCA's from the rear seat output into the AV-Input makes me almost want to get one.

    BTW, the AVIC-88DVD will NOT display "engine diagnostics".

    The Pioneer AVG-VDP1 WILL display estimated HP & Torque, lateral,vertical, and horizontal acceleration, estimated RPM (sensor calibration required), and some other neat things, this is what will use the 26-Pin RGB input on my AVX-P8DVD.

    Also, the AVIC-88DVD also uses the 26-Pin RGB connection, and you can only use one or the other.

    https://www.elantraxd.com/forums/vbga...o=view&id=1214
    Quote Originally Posted by KeWLKaT View Post
    What's the difference between a 600whp, and a 200whp Hyundai? None, they both run 13's at the strip.

  10. #8
    Administrator SuperGLS has information that can be trustedSuperGLS has information that can be trusted SuperGLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Southeast DC
    Posts
    25,975

    Default Re: Avic N2

    A guy at my work just got the AVIC D1 (in dash screen instead of flip out) for his Highlander. He also got the XM Tuner with XM Traffic thing, as well as the rear camera that Pioneer offers.

    Overall it's very nice. The only problem seem to be the lack of updated software for roads. We live in an area where there is a lot of growth and therefore a lot of new roads. Half the time it thinks you aren't going the correct way and will constantly tell you to make a U-turn because it doesn't know there is a road ahead that you can use. Then you'll go onto a road and it'll think you are off roading. The rear camera is great, it's basically for monitoring what's going on with a trailer or whatever you are towing, but when we were driving around I was just having fun looking behind us, haha, I'm a dork.

    Good luck.



    100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
    JustDonkeys: All the donkey news, info and fun you could want. Or on Twitter @JustDonkeys.

  11. #9
    Stacker BlueRush has not yet proved knowledgeable BlueRush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Watertown, New York
    Posts
    547

    Default Re: Avic N2

    The only problem with the AVIC-D1 is its inability to play a DVD movie, at all. It's a very navigation only type video unit.

    https://www.elantraxd.com/forums/vbga...o=view&id=1214
    Quote Originally Posted by KeWLKaT View Post
    What's the difference between a 600whp, and a 200whp Hyundai? None, they both run 13's at the strip.

  12. #10
    circuit track whore 2loud2k2xd has not yet proved knowledgeable 2loud2k2xd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    detroit
    Posts
    3,820

    Default Re: Avic N2

    just to chime in, i have the pioneer 960mp and the p8-dvd. I LOVE IT! the best combo out there, imo.

  13. #11
    Stacker BlueRush has not yet proved knowledgeable BlueRush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Watertown, New York
    Posts
    547

    Default Re: Avic N2

    I have the 860MP and it does everything yours does, only it doesn't have the split face, which I'm not huge on given the ribbon cable that WILL and DOES wear out. I've never seen a Pioneer headunit come back as a result of manufacturer defect as much or even 1/10th as much as the 9xxMP series decks.

    BTW, do you use the network mode or normal mode for your setup?
    i.e. Your RCA's are Front, Rear, and Sub (Normal Mode) or High, Mid, Sub (Network Mode).

    I'm using network mode with a 55x4 to my tweets, a 75x4 to my mids, and a 1100x1 to my subs.

    What a way to hyjack a thread huh!!! LOL Sorry!!!
    Last edited by BlueRush; 09-23-2005 at 09:10 PM.

    https://www.elantraxd.com/forums/vbga...o=view&id=1214
    Quote Originally Posted by KeWLKaT View Post
    What's the difference between a 600whp, and a 200whp Hyundai? None, they both run 13's at the strip.

  14. #12
    circuit track whore 2loud2k2xd has not yet proved knowledgeable 2loud2k2xd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    detroit
    Posts
    3,820

    Default Re: Avic N2

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueRush
    I have the 860MP and it does everything yours does, only it doesn't have the split face, which I'm not huge on given the ribbon cable that WILL and DOES wear out. I've never seen a Pioneer headunit come back as a result of manufacturer defect as much or even 1/10th as much as the 9xxMP series decks.

    BTW, do you use the network mode or normal mode for your setup?
    i.e. Your RCA's are Front, Rear, and Sub (Normal Mode) or High, Mid, Sub (Network Mode).

    I'm using network mode with a 55x4 to my tweets, a 75x4 to my mids, and a 1100x1 to my subs.

    What a way to hyjack a thread huh!!! LOL Sorry!!!
    never in the 2yrs of having it had i any problems. i have it normal mode. 640 for components, and 2400 for sub. ALL RMS power

  15. #13
    Stacker BlueRush has not yet proved knowledgeable BlueRush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Watertown, New York
    Posts
    547

    Default Re: Avic N2

    and your getting 140's? I guess that good for 1 twelve. I got 144 w/ 2 12's and 1100watts.

    https://www.elantraxd.com/forums/vbga...o=view&id=1214
    Quote Originally Posted by KeWLKaT View Post
    What's the difference between a 600whp, and a 200whp Hyundai? None, they both run 13's at the strip.

  16. #14
    circuit track whore 2loud2k2xd has not yet proved knowledgeable 2loud2k2xd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    detroit
    Posts
    3,820

    Default Re: Avic N2

    145 in a daily box, not a spl box. if spl box only i could do at the least a 149 or better. guaranteed

  17. #15

    Default Re: Avic N2

    Thats the joy of the Solo X, But back to the point, I love the Avic N2. I did get it and installed it myself. Its freaking awesome. And 2loud, I had the 960mp before the N2, I am very pleased.

  18. #16
    Stacker BlueRush has not yet proved knowledgeable BlueRush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Watertown, New York
    Posts
    547

    Default Re: Avic N2

    Good, glad to hear it. Let me know if you find anything you don't care for as I am thinking of getting one as well.

    https://www.elantraxd.com/forums/vbga...o=view&id=1214
    Quote Originally Posted by KeWLKaT View Post
    What's the difference between a 600whp, and a 200whp Hyundai? None, they both run 13's at the strip.

  19. #17

    Default Re: Avic N2

    the AVIC N2 is freckin awesome, if you can get one cheap, go for it,
    quick link for ya > http://www.clubcivic.com/board/showthread.php?t=63023

  20. #18

    Default Re: Avic N2

    It's definately sweet. The only down side to the unit I have found is the 2v pre-outs. But i can just adjust the gain on my amps to fix that.

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts