Re-Programming the remote.
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Re-Programming the remote.

  1. #1

    Default Re-Programming the remote.

    The remote for my newly purchased 2004 Elantra does not work. The red light on the remote flashes when buttons are pressed but nothing happens. As expected, the Mom-n-Pop used car lot knew nothing about the history of the car. The car has a brand new battery so I suspect the loss of power may have lost the programming connection. Anybody know the secret recipe to re-programming?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Elantra XD
    Advertisements

  3. #2
    Junior Member Killride has not yet proved knowledgeable Killride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    126

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    yeah... the recipe is $80 at the dealership.....
    I lost one of my remotes and I wanted to replace it.... just to find out that I couldnt figure out how to do it.......

  4. #3
    KDM to JDM. Keyan can identify a wrench Keyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sparta, NJ
    Posts
    6,437

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    on 2004 and up models you need a hyundai scantool to reprogram.

    you have to go to the dealership
    MySpace/Facebook
    Quote Originally Posted by someone on NJTuners.com
    never tell someone with a turbocharged elantra they cant do something
    Quote Originally Posted by OPZ View Post
    Keyan.

    You are my ****ing hero.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Elantra XD
    Advertisements

  6. #4
    Player to be named later Doohickie has picked up a wrench Doohickie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas, USA
    Posts
    3,334

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    Check to see if the hood switch is working. It is on the passenger side of the engine compartment next to the fender, about halfway back. 4 out of 5 dentists find that this switch not being closed is the reason for the remote not to work. The alarm won't arm the alarm if the hood, trunk or a door is open. Check all the switches on those.

    And like I said in the other thread, join the local board. If you do need it programmed, I bet if you get on real good terms with a guy named "Fixer" he'll do it for free or cheap (he's a tech and a Hyundai dealership in Arlington.)
    Last edited by Doohickie; 09-16-2007 at 10:05 PM.
    Make an ELANTRAXD decal the next mod to your Elantra. Become a Pro Member today.

  7. #5
    Acountabilibuddy ricerrx7 knows a lot about Elantras
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Redondo Beach, Ca
    Posts
    4,862

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    The hood pin won't cause the door locks to not function.
    Flying spaghetti monster loves you...


    I am openly an *******. 1 of 3251 *******s on this forum.

  8. #6
    Ultimate Post Whore 04 elantra cvvt has not yet proved knowledgeable 04 elantra cvvt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Georgetown, Texas
    Posts
    3,501

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    Quote Originally Posted by ricerrx7 View Post
    The hood pin won't cause the door locks to not function.
    That is right. The locks will still function, it just won't arm the alarm.

  9. #7
    turbo envy only1db has picked up a wrench only1db's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tannersville, PA
    Posts
    12,884

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    Quote Originally Posted by Keyan View Post
    on 2004 and up models you need a hyundai scantool to reprogram.

    you have to go to the dealership
    any car with the remote including 01 models and up...

    you need to have it reprogrammed at the dealership.


    Silver Certified Tech turned Sonographer! and blogger?? check it out!!

    http://allthingshyundai.blogspot.com/

    Veloster Turbo is in the future....

  10. #8
    KDM to JDM. Keyan can identify a wrench Keyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sparta, NJ
    Posts
    6,437

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    Quote Originally Posted by only1db View Post
    any car with the remote including 01 models and up...

    you need to have it reprogrammed at the dealership.
    your f'ing kidding right?

    we all KNOW there is a DIY for reprogramming the 01-03 remotes
    MySpace/Facebook
    Quote Originally Posted by someone on NJTuners.com
    never tell someone with a turbocharged elantra they cant do something
    Quote Originally Posted by OPZ View Post
    Keyan.

    You are my ****ing hero.

  11. #9
    Veni, Vidi, Velcro Munky has information that can be trusted Munky has information that can be trusted Munky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Noblesville, IN
    Posts
    10,969

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    Quote Originally Posted by only1db View Post
    any car with the remote including 01 models and up...

    you need to have it reprogrammed at the dealership.
    And yet again, you're wrong. I've done it myself, along with many others.

    http://forum.crookedh.com/showthread.php?t=2133


    Veni, Vidi, Velcro : I came, I saw, I stuck around

  12. #10
    Acountabilibuddy ricerrx7 knows a lot about Elantras
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Redondo Beach, Ca
    Posts
    4,862

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    Quote Originally Posted by only1db View Post
    any car with the remote including 01 models and up...

    you need to have it reprogrammed at the dealership.
    Wow dude...
    Flying spaghetti monster loves you...


    I am openly an *******. 1 of 3251 *******s on this forum.

  13. #11
    Super Moderator hyunelan2 knows a lot about Elantras hyunelan2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Near Chicago, IL
    Posts
    15,223

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    01-03 you can do yourself.

    04+ you need the dealer.

    • Past: 2002 Elantra GLS (sold in 2010), 2003 Tiburon GT (Sold in 2014)
    • Present: 2004 Santa Fe GLS, 2004 Saab 9-3 Arc, 2010 Suzuki Equator Sport
    • Future: ????

  14. #12
    Poster God mtlelantra knows a lot about Elantras mtlelantra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    1,947

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    Another 01-03 DIY: http://www.elantragtclub.com/elantra/id309.html

    So with your 04, if the remote is indeed programmed, it should at least do something (lock/unlock) if you press the corresponding button, regardless of the state of the doors/trunk/hood.
    If it does nothing at all (try all the buttons) and the light on the remote is blinking, then it's not programmed into the ETACS and for 04+, you need the dealer (or someone with a scantool who knows what he/she is doing) to program the ETACS to accept the remote. If you have more than one remote, you need to bring all of them in. I'm pretty sure like the 01-03 that you have to program the ETACS to accept all the remotes at the same time, and that old stored codes get erased at the same time.

    BTW- in all MY, you're programming the ETACS to recognize the code that the remote is sending... you're NOT programming the remote itself.

    I'm not sure about the 01-03, but the 04-06 have a "dual stage" arming system. Press the lock button once, it'll lock everything. Press the lock button again within ~4 seconds of the first press (like a slow double-click) and the ETACS will check that everything is secure (i.e. trunk closed, hood closed, all doors fully latched). If everything is, it'll chirp. If something is still ajar (e.g. trunk popped), it will NOT chirp which means you should have a look-see to see what's open. If you confirm that everything is closed properly and you still don't get a chirp, then do what Doohickie recommended and check the sensors... usually it's the hood sensor that's not being pressed down far enough with the rubber bumper and you'll have to MacGyver it.
    2004 Hyundai Elantra VE 2.slow
    One of the few 138 HP ULEV XD2s in California.

  15. #13
    EXD Pro Member jalmir knows a lot about Elantras jalmir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Back in Canada bit**es!!! :D
    Posts
    4,501

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    Quote Originally Posted by only1db View Post
    any car with the remote including 01 models and up...

    you need to have it reprogrammed at the dealership.
    wow ... I don't even have an XD and I know it's not true!

    so fwjames, as other said you'll have to go to the dealer.
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperGLS View Post
    Two weeks without the internet and Sean is still the biggest piece of crap around.

  16. #14
    Former Scoupe addict PanciLaan has not yet proved knowledgeable PanciLaan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    324

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    Hey if you will go to a dealer.
    It should max cost em about 5 minutes.
    They just have to look up the other cable for the learning procedure.
    Then it's in the car with the Hi-scan or GDS and 20 secs later they're finished.
    If the dealer charges $80 for programming it, damn they're crazy
    I've done it a lot at work, so I know what I'm talking about

    (The DIY also works on older Santa Fe and Trajet, which got the same ETACS type with the switch)

    Also what is being said about door,hood and trunk switches is true.
    Check if they work, if the light on your dash go on if one is open, then it's working
    Last edited by PanciLaan; 09-17-2007 at 02:31 PM.

  17. #15
    turbo envy only1db has picked up a wrench only1db's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tannersville, PA
    Posts
    12,884

    Default Re: Re-Programming the remote.

    ^ lets not forget that they have to pay a rediculous amount for the gds unit itself...


    and to be honest...i never saw a diy for doing the remotes....my bad.


    Silver Certified Tech turned Sonographer! and blogger?? check it out!!

    http://allthingshyundai.blogspot.com/

    Veloster Turbo is in the future....

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts