Hyundai Elantra Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow elantraxd users,

I bought a 2001 Elantra GLS with 156,000 miles about 2~3 weeks ago from another college student (I'm also a college student lol) and she had used it for a year.

Her dad (who also is a mechanic at the dealership according to her) bought it from a dealership and did whatever maintenance was necessary to the car for her.

I thought she or her dad would've kept a record of maintenance and car but she said she didn't have any.

I checked out the car myself before buying and I was confident that there was nothing major wrong with the car and bought it.

I got the car checked out by a mechanic that I know at the shop and he said I got a good deal.

However, he said that the following will need to be done:

Transmission fluid flushed and changed

Power steering pump fluid flushed and changed

Upper strut and strut mounts (front)

Front and rear brake pads and rotors changed (if needed)

The mechanic said he'd do the transmission fluid and power steering pump fluid flush.

However, he's out of town and I wanted to get them done before I went out of town (250~300 miles) next week so I called a few mechanic shops.

This is what all of them said.

"If the mechanic said it smelled nasty, the chance is that it's black and burned and I don't deal with that because I have ended up with angry customers after doing the transmission fluid flush."

I asked him why and he said that "dirty transmission fluid means that it could mess up the transmission while flushing it."

I'm wondering to what extent this is true... he kept asking me if there was anything wrong with the transmission and I said no.

Well, a couple of times I have somehow put the gear in BOTH neutral and drive and when I pressed on the gas pedal, the car didn't move.

So I had to completely move it to "drive" and the car went fine.

So here are the questions,