Hyundai Elantra Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had a knocking noise for quite awhile now coming from somewhere around the engine. It only happens when I'm at a constant speed, neither accelerating or decelerating. It's also only really noticeable after about 2000RPM. I took it into a shop, the guy THOUGHT it might be a rod in which case he thought that I would have to replace the engine or the car. I'm being a bit stubborn since I'm a college student and have nothing to spare and seeing if there are any other possibilities. From what I've read, there are numerous things I can check to see if they're loose. The guy from the shop also said that if I use an even heavier oil, I could possibly get away with less knocking and stave off an (in his eyes) inevitable engine replacement. What are my chances?

·
Registered
2,495 Posts
Okay so in my xd when I drive it normal its fine but when I start accelerating faster or higher the rpms go even when im just revving up the rpd I here like a rattling noise coming from the engine I was told it could be the lifters. Maybe if I run seafoam thru the crankcase would it quiet it down. Im hoping it could just be the lifters I did an oil change to mobile synthetic to new filter. Could it be the lifters.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Found these awhile back when looking into engine cleaning/sludge removal etc. not sure if they will help you or give you any ideas but figured it cant hurt:

http://www.enginebuildermag.com/2013/07/cleaning-blocks-cylinder-heads/
http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/threads/best-way-to-clean-cylinder-heads.388571/
http://www.yotarepair.com/sludge article.html